Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Why use pseudonyms?

2»

Comments

• RichardHRichardH Veteran
    edited October 2009
    Troll!!!! :)
  • PalzangPalzang Veteran
    edited October 2009
    Thanks, I needed that... :buck:

Palzang
  • edited October 2009
    Hi Dazzle. Well , I certainly can't argue with that, and I respect you concerns, but I will debate the general principle. I am an artist and my face and name are all over the internet connected with various galleries and media. If anyone wants to find me it is a click away. I also know many single women artists who are equally exposed in public profile, Anyone can see this stuff, and although modern life has these concerns, they are not especially concerned. It seems different on these forums. Once again I respect your choice, especially on the count of genuine fear, but it seems there are also other reasons for other people....

As a writer, I have the same thing going on. I'm all over the internet and I have some pretty strong opinions. My employer doesn't care (she shares some of those opinions!) and so that's not a problem. In almost 20 years on the internet I've never been hassled or stalked. That said, though, I have a completely anonymous persona that I occasionally use. It's fun to be someone else sometimes
  • StaticToyboxStaticToybox Veteran
    edited October 2009