Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

struggles

edited January 2010 in Philosophy
I started practicing Tibetan Buddhism in early '07. I jumped in with two feet first.
Now I find myself really struggling with my doubts, and with my practice.

How do I figure out whether Buddha nature exists? How do I develop faith in myself?
I doubt my abilities and my capacity for improvement/compassion/realization, which I know is a very large hindrance on the path. How to believe that enlightenment is real and something I can actually achieve when I have no example walking around in my daily life? I do realize that I have no idea where my thoughts are coming from or going to, but this mystery is easily buried underneath my neurotic activity that I cram every second of my life with. When I am all alone, I feel like this stuff is a fairy tale that I made up and yet I remember that spiritual honeymoon when I felt so strongly about the teachings. I know the Buddha didn't want people to have blind faith, but to know and experience--but the experience that gave me faith in the esoteric practices is now a memory. Please help by giving me your thoughts? thanks

Comments

• cazcaz Veteran United Kingdom Veteran
    edited January 2010