Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Buddhism and Sex?

edited February 2010 in Buddhism Basics
Hello everyone,
I am very new to Buddhism. I have been studying it off and on for about two years now--very casually. Today I was reading different websites and came across this:

A core teaching of Buddhism is the Buddha's Eightfold Path.
<!--msthemelist--><table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <!--msthemelist--><tbody><tr><td width="42" valign="baseline">topbul1d.gif</td><td width="100%" valign="top">The second of the eight steps is called Samma sankappa: right thinking or right resolve. It has been stated as:<!--msthemelist--></td></tr> <!--msthemelist--></tbody></table>
"You must renounce the pleasures of the senses; you must harbor no ill will toward anyone, and harm no living creature." <sub></sub>
When applied to sexual behavior, this step would seem to imply that one must:
Engage in no pleasurable activities at all, including both masturbation and sexual pursuits with another person.

Why is this considered bad?

Thank you,
Amanda

It came from this site: http://www.religioustolerance.org

Comments

• edited January 2010
    It is not that you must not; it is not a commandment. It is that avoidance of sensual pleasures fosters detachment from them. It is our attachment to these temporary phenomena that are the cause of our suffering, our dukkha.