Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Islam and Buddhism

edited January 2006 in Faith & Religion
Hello,

I find this subject fascinating -- the merging of Buddhism and Islam. I studied Islam quite extensively for the past year, and I wonder how the two can meet. Islam sounds so exclusionary -- it's the Quran and the ahadith with some fatwas thrown in to keep people on their toes. Afterall, Muhammad, sallallaahu 'alaihi wa sallam, said that if Moses, 'alayh is'salam, were alive at the time, Moses (pbuh) would have to follow the teachings of Muhammad (saws). Doesn't leave much room for listening to Prince Siddhartha, I'd think.

e.g. You have Bilal Phillips clearly laying out the "true path" as being the Salafi brand of Islam. Great video here:
The Way Is One (Gotta scroll down a bit for the specific "The Way is One" title, but it's interesting.)

Yusuf Estes is another guy big in the dawah field, and he too can show some intollerance towards those who stray from the Wahhabi Way. I think it's his famous Wings of a Butterfly lecture where he really rips on Sheikh Hamza Yusuf. (I could be mistaken on the exact audio file -- listened to lots of Yusuf Estes, as I went through a period where I was driving an hour and a half a day for work, so I recorded all his lectures for the trips.)