Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

A Feminist vs. The Other Feminists

edited February 2010 in Buddhism Today
You can't tell much about a person from an online forum. Personalities are impossible to gauge. So you'll just have to take my word for it...

I'm a private person by trade. I like to be left alone by strangers. I have my group of friends, but I have contempt for people who intentionally bother me and annoy me in public. (For instance, someone on drugs came up and bothered me while I was walking the other day. Unnecessary and a bit frightening)

Also, I consider myself a conservative feminist if such a thing can be believed. I'm traditional. I would prefer the woman I marry stays home to raise our children rather than pursue a career. And I would rather have my children homeschooled initially rather than spend their days in the zoos that are public schools.

That being said, I also acknowledge that such a choice should be entirely that of the woman's or the wife's. Women should be free to choose how they live their lives, where they work/if they work, and be allowed the same opportunities as men. I also am a feminist in the sense that I have deep sympathies for the practically enslaved women of the Middle-East and parts of Africa and Asia. The burqa, genital mutilation, child marriages, punishments for being a victim of rape, and lashings for fraudulent "virtue" offenses, are all deeply illiberal and abhorrent to me.

So hopefully my feminist credentials are in order before I get on to today's story.