Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Buddhism and mental health issues

skydancerskydancer Veteran
edited May 2010 in Buddhism Today
I've been working through PTSD, which is an anxiety disorder, and using medication, psychotherapy and dharma practice to work it through.

I thought the topic may be interesting for some.

I'm a social worker and counselor by trade.

Comments

• PaxPax
    edited February 2010
    My former occupation sky dancer. I saw great benefit from meditation practice for my clients with Borderline, really seemed to help center them and matched nicely with DBT.
  • skydancerskydancer Veteran
    edited February 2010
    Interesting Pax-

We have a few things in common. I always used mindfulness in counseling practice and counseling has been a form of spiritual practice for me.

My meditation teacher has told me to go back to that profession in order to benefit others.

I'm currently co-facilitating workshops on mind-body explorations using sitting and walking meditations, guided enquiry, awareness through movement classes (Feldenkrais method), peace talk and focusing processes.

sky
  • edited February 2010
    I purchased an audio program titled "The mindful way through depression" for my wife and I've had a chance to listen to it myself.

I believe that those who want to commit to the teachings of mindfulness will benefit greatly. Effort is the key - listening to these tapes or reading about the practice isn't going to do anyone any good.
  • PaxPax
    edited February 2010
    sky dancer wrote: »
    Interesting Pax-