Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Artificial Intelligence

ajani_mgoajani_mgo Veteran
edited November 2005 in Buddhism Basics
Does Buddhism here take a stance towards Artificial Intelligence? I'm currently an avid researcher in AI and coming out with this new AI technology which I unsurely say might, just might, put the many university computer scientists to shame. But the point is, me coming out with a sentinent program and to have my own religion say "AI SUCKS."

Comments

• edited October 2005
    ajani_mgo wrote:
    Does Buddhism here take a stance towards Artificial Intelligence? I'm currently an avid researcher in AI and coming out with this new AI technology which I unsurely say might, just might, put the many university computer scientists to shame. But the point is, me coming out with a sentinent program and to have my own religion say "AI SUCKS."

I can't imagine there's any stance toward AI in buddhism considering that 2,500 years ago, in the buddha's lifetime, the the computers they had were commadors at best ;) .
  • edited October 2005
    As with anything, just try to be conscious of the possible effects (karma) of your actions. Let that be your guide.
  • SimonthepilgrimSimonthepilgrim Veteran
    edited October 2005
    I think that AI is a fascinating study and one which would very appropriate for the Buddhist. In some ways, it is not about Atrificial Intelligence but about Artificial Consciousness, and what could be more important than to define and understand consciousness? I really look forward to the day when the basic components of consciousness are mapped, like the human genone.