Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Soteriology

edited December 2010 in Faith & Religion
I'm new to this forum and I don't want to step on anyone's toes by asking such touchy questions right off the bat, but from what I've read everyone here is pretty tolerant of those 'Christians'. :)

I suppose I should introduce myself. My name is Audrey, I am a student at a Christian university in Southern California and I am currently taking a theology class that asks me to enter into dialogue with a way of life that is different than my own. One of my assignments is to read a chapter in Timothy Tennent's book Theology in the context of World Christianity. I have come to the conclusion that just reading a book written by a Christian is not the best way to understand Buddhism and therefore have decided to take up a conversation with those who practice instead. Thus why I am here. :D

Anyways, enough about unimportant things. I have a few questions that I am not able to answer on my own, nor was I able to have answered at the Buddhist temple I visited. I hope that I don't offend anyone... I am not one to be offended by any type of question so I often don't know what is acceptable/not acceptable. Excuse any bluntness... (And I will completely understand if you don't want to answer!) (AND... I will answer any questions you have for me!) I promise I'm not here to judge. I just want to learn.

1. Would you agree that ignorance requires a teacher, much like sin requires a savior?