Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

probably heard this a thousand times....

i am somewhat new to buddhism, and brand spankin' new to this site but i have a question...

why does it appear that enlightenment/ buddhas/arahants... etc.... seem to be ever distant unattainable phenomena? it seems no one can claim enlightenment without everyone jumping on them.... nirvana seems to become a dirty word.

it appears some have taken buddhanature and made it the atman... why? why make the darmha a never-ending rabbit hole?

if one cannot become enlightened(or it is so difficult to become so) why practice buddhism at all?

Comments

• edited December 2010
    Hi Chris, well I better answer your question because I'm one of those that is incredulous at the amount of people that come here claiming enlightenment. Is it difficult? Well, I think you would have a better chance of hitting the bullseye of a target with a bow and arrow from a kilometre away. Very difficult, yes but possibly not impossible for an expert marksman.

To put it into perspective, I was speaking with a Buddhist monk in Australia who said to me that he only knew of 3 people in Australia that had achieved stream entry - the first stage of awakening and all those were Buddhist monks. So, in a population of 22 million, 3 monks and 0 lay people. And that's only the first stage of awakening, not full awakening! And yet here we have people claiming enlightenment almost on a daily basis!