Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Help- complete beginner seeking something....

edited January 2006 in Faith & Religion
:banghead:

Hi, It's some advice I'm after really, apologies if I sound like an idiot but I am very new to the concept of Buddhism.

I'm angry, dissatified, materialistic and feel like my life lacks meaning or even interest. I have been reading a little about Buddishm and it sounds so peaceful, I would love to be able to really appreciate life and it's simple pleasures.
I am not at all comforable with the concepts of 'worship' or 'religion', I seek more of a peace within myself, however I am open minded.
I have been put off by some sites that make Buddhism sound like one big pagan festival by offering reatreats for the solstice, naked 'sweat tents' and post festival meditation. I'm sure, however, that this is not indicative of the religion.

I'm not really sure what I want to know other than I would love to hear some views from others and would like to know where to go for some more (simple to begin with) information.

Thank you very much,
Sparkly

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    edited November 2005
    Hello Sparkly, and welcome to the forum....!
    Where to begin, where to begin.....
    Look the best advice i can give you is to read this thread first.....

http://www.newbuddhist.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1

Then have a quick glance at this one....

http://www.newbuddhist.com/forum/showthread.php?t=11