Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

New to meditation

edited January 2011 in Meditation
Hi guys,

I'm new to Buddhist meditation, and after read about it for nearly ten years, feel that it's time to do something about it!

I was a Nichiren Buddhist (Soka Gakkai) for a short period, but felt its teachings were too far removed from what I understood to be Buddhism that I stopped practicing.

I am looking to ask your advice as to which would be, in your opinion, the best meditation practice for a beginner? There are two groups in my city, one Zen and one Karma Kagyu. There is actually also a Theravada group, but my heart on this matter lies with the Mahayana and my beliefs are more in keeping with the ideals of this school.

The Zen group meets up to three times a week and it is a mixture of both zazen and walking meditation. The Karma Kagyu group meets once a week for a beginners meditation, however, other classes are available once you have progressed further along the path.

Your thoughts would be most welcome.

In peace

Comments

• I'd jump at any opportunity to study Mahamudra and (especially) the Six Yogas of Naropa, so that's a vote for Kagyu from me.
  • Kagyu is great for me. It is quite practical and down to earth, and they practice a variety of meditation styles which I find helpful as I was getting stuck in rather a rut.