Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Hello

edited December 2005 in Buddhism Basics
I am new to this sight and to the Buddhist thought. Someone asked me the other day why there is so much suffering in the world today and I said suffering is a part of living. That person said Gee you must be a Buddhist!! I never really thought of it that way but perhaps it is something I need to look into. So here I am. I went to the bookstore and bought. Awakening the Buddha Within, Lama Surya Das. The first 140 pages are very interesting. It now seems to be getting a little tougher to comprehend. Maybe I'm looking too deeply. I look forward to research and great conversation.

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    edited December 2005
    Hello InsideOut, and welcome to our friendly sangha - !!

two things:
    You can pretty much ask any question you need help on. You may not get one definitive answer, but you'll certainly get several points of view for you to mull over and give you further food for thought.....!
    Secondly, Lama Surya Das is a personal favourite of mine, and I subscribe to his way of thinking....
    I have the further two books of his 'Awakening' Trilogy, in addition to another book he subsequently wrote, titled 'Letting Go of the Person you used to Be.'
    If you need to ask anything, feel free!
    And welcome again!
  • edited December 2005
    Buddhism Plain and Simple by Steve Hagen- another good place to start!
    Mike
  • MagwangMagwang Veteran
    edited December 2005