Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Is it as simple as accepting reality for what it actually is?

ravkesravkes Veteran
edited January 2011 in Philosophy
I've been trying to figure out enlightenment, Buddhism, reality and really just life in general for the past 1.5 years. However, there have only been a few things that have remained the same: the fact that this body needs food and water to live and that I need to work for a living (whether it be at college or at a future job). I noticed that when I see reality for what it is, just accept whatever is happening right now, that suffering disappears. It's only when I want something to be different that I suffer. It's not like I don't work to help and improve my life situation on a daily basis, but when everything is just accepted life is no longer a problem.

However, why is it so hard to accept reality for what it is? Could it be that we actually create our own suffering and cling to it? Could it be that we take an objective reality and turn it into a subjective monstrosity designed and structured to fulfill our own erroneous interpretations of an already perfect reality, a reality that just is what it is? Is it really that simple?

I'd like to hear your take on this.

:)

Comments

• Yes, we create our own suffering and cling to it. That is exactly right. There is no suffering, except self-created suffering. Just know that this moment is perfect. It could not be any other way. If you understand this, then suffering disappears.
  • Yes, just this. Phenomena floating by just as they are, unless we want them to be otherwise. Thank you Journey.