Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Buddhist Problem Solving Methods

edited February 2011 in Philosophy
Hello, I work as a research scientist. I have been working on a particularly thorny problem for the past 20 years. Hundreds of other scientists from around the world have also been looking at this for a number of years. There have been small breakthroughs but no major insight. The problem remains unsolved.

I would like to ask, how do the Buddhist approach problems to gain an insight, a breakthrough?

It occured to me, the buddha was perhaps the greatest research scientist of all. He worked on a problem, he contemplated it endlessly and then arrvied at a solution(enlightment).

I am looking for insight methods, the following two examples may help clarify.

1. We have all heard about Albert Einstein's Fundamental idea of Theory of Relativity. On his way to work each day, Einstein performed thought experiments. One of these was a revelation to him , and lead directly to his theory of relativity. " I realized that if I was riding on a beam of light , time for me would stop."

2. August Kekulé, the father of structural Chemistry. The famous German chemist who discovered the structuce of the Benzene molecule. He said that he had discovered the ring shape of the benzene molecule after having a reverie or day-dream of a snake seizing its own tail (this is a common symbol in many ancient cultures known as the Ouroboros). This vision, he said, came to him after years of studying the nature of carbon-carbon bonds.

Here is his facinating account.