Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

I am a scientist (a story of no particular interest or meaning)

edited February 2011 in Arts & Writings
Still a student, but still a scientist. I have received money for my work; that makes me a professional scientist, even if I don't have my PhD quite yet. And I'll get it; I have to. I feel in devotion to academia there is a certain purity of purpose. It gives me an identity: I am a biochemist. I am smart. I am good. I am a scientist.

My life is mostly spent in labs and on computers, typing up papers and designing a series of inconclusive experiments. I get up, eat breakfast, then work on my thesis until dinner. Then I have an hour or two to indulge in my hobbies before it's time for bed and another round. My hobbies are mostly the same thing I do at the university. I don't really have many pleasures besides biochemistry.

But there are a few. One of them is guns. I am a vegetarian, and I love animals (including humans). I certainly don't condone hunting, or using guns on anything but targets. I suppose I like them from a mechanical perspective, or perhaps a philosophical one: the object is designed merely to propel a piece of metal down a short, rifled tube. The use it is put to is up to the individual. As long as we can buy guns, we can value knowledge for its own sake.

There is no knowledge inherently evil, just as there are no evil machines.