Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Importance of a Buddhist Teacher!?

edited February 2011 in Buddhism Today
I need some advice and i really want your opinion. Im curious to know what you would do in my situation.

I hit rock bottom in Nov 2010 and i guess too many damn things were happening to me at the same time and its was that moment that I started studying buddhism (I drifted in via Yoga and Meditation and serious dukha!) However I am literally just going through authors, dharmapada, various branches of buddhism and meditation. Did or Do any of you have a Buddhism Teacher?

Im just being a bit guarded about joining a sangha in London but im not sure if they would teach me a set tradition only. Plus im reading up on Tara Brach, Thich Nhat Hanh and its made me think of what you all do.

LL

Comments

• I've never had one, but teachers are usually the way to go if you are in a position to have one. Teachers can guide you down the right path, and see when you're going off toward an extreme and point you back to where you should be focusing. There are a lot of pitfalls, dangerous ways you can view the teachings (or dangerous ways of practicing) that really it's hard to tell unless you're already awakened; and so to have a teacher is invaluable in these cases, otherwise you either get stuck or all screwed up in your thinking.
  • edited February 2011
    thats what im worried about - im trying to avoid only learning one aspect of Buddhism for example say just Zen and miss a huge wealth of knowledge elsewhere.

Oh and whats Kadampa?
  • CloudCloud Veteran
    edited February 2011