Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

How to balance out happiness with Career goals, money and time?

edited March 2011 in General Banter
I am 23, a little behind on life, I'm a guitar teacher not working many hours... I was thinking about going back to school but so many things come into play:
-Do I want to spend 4-5 years getting a degree?
-If I worked another job would I move up and like the it just as much without spending time on the degree?
-If I don't go to school and have a low income job, what would that be like for a family?

I have the option to get a warehouse job possibly with my half brother, or perhaps go back to school. If I worked the warehouse job, maybe I could open up my own music school one day? It's so hard because there is no guarentee in that ofcourse... Basically to school or not to school? and what kind of money does a family need?

ty

Comments

• CloudCloud Veteran
    If you're asking for advice based on that, I'd say... get a degree, that way if opening up a store isn't the primary thing you want to do or it doesn't work out, you're not stuck doing warehouse jobs the rest of your life. What's on paper matters to employers more than anything nowadays.
  • LostieLostie Veteran
    edited March 2011
    I once read a "self-help" book on work-life balance. It is said that one cannot achieve balance. You have to go all the way. And Buddhist teachings seem to support this view, ie You don't hold back coz' you will be distracted.

Do it first and talk later about balance.
  • @cloud I think your right cloud, thanks