Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Good beginner books to introduce friends and relatives

xabirxabir Veteran
edited April 2012 in Buddhism Basics
Ok, I know probably this topic has been discussed before so if that's the case maybe someone can point out to me.

I am looking for a good dharma intro book - reliable and yet not overly difficult and complicated, which introduces the essentials of what Buddhism is about. Target audience: absolute beginners, something I can pass to anyone - my dad, mom, relatives and friends to introduce them to Buddhism. Hopefully something interesting to hook their interest and attention on Dharma.

Any good ones you've read to share?

Reason I posted this: I wish to pass my dad something so he can learn about and practice Buddhism.

Comments

• personperson Don't believe everything you think The liminal space Veteran
    I got this one from some book club intro offer a while ago. It has lots of pictures and easily digestable bits on Buddhism. I gave it to my mom to look through. IMO it gives a simple, clear overview of Buddhist concepts and practices.

http://www.amazon.com/The-Illustrated-Encyclopedia-Buddhist-Wisdom/dp/0835607860

• vinlynvinlyn Colorado...for now Veteran
    Ok, I know probably this topic has been discussed before so if that's the case maybe someone can point out to me.