Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

What drew you to your school of Buddhism?

DaftChrisDaftChris Spiritually conflicted. Not of this world. Veteran
edited November 2012 in General Banter
I'm studying Mahayana Buddhism and, in particular, I'm interested in Tibetan. I like how it retains the 4 noble truths & 8 fold path and yet has a deeply mystical element. A nice mixture of naturalism and metaphysicism.

What drew you to your school?

Comments

• LincLinc Site owner Detroit Moderator
    edited November 2012
    Reading a short book about it and saying "oh, yeah, that's basically what I believe. I guess I'm that, then." :D
    DaftChrisDairyLamatmottes
  • I started reading zen books when I was just beginning to become aware of Buddhism. When I actually started meditating I found a book in the Tibetan Buddhist (TB) tradition by Kathleen McDonald and it contained meditations on emptiness and other thoughts the author had and bundled with being excited about meditation I got a good impression from TB. Later I participated in an aol sangha and learned basicly the Gelug perspective on emptiness anger management and some other things. Six years ago I found my Kagyu sangha and I really like something special about how the teachings make me feel; I feel joyful, relieved, engaged, and enthusiastic.
  • cazcaz Veteran United Kingdom Veteran
    I was very fortunate I was born into it, Of course being born into something tends to negate the preciousness of the object so you learn latter in life to appreciate the instructions you have received.

Kadampa.