Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Buddhist Christmas

I'm curious how my fellow buddhists spend christmas? Do you have trees in your home or decorate at all? Do you buy/exchange gifts? I've been studying the dharma for about 3 yrs and christmas is really no big deal to me. Even before that I wasn't a big christmas guy, I only bought gifts for my sister when she was alive, otherwise I would have no interest. But now I've recently married (3 months) to a Thai lady and obviously (or not) she's a buddhist. She is with me in the states. I asked her if she wanted to put up a tree and she says she doesn't care about that. But I feel I should give her a gift and let her experience christmas time and our culture. What do you all do?
Cole_allie2016

Comments

• DaftChrisDaftChris Spiritually conflicted. Not of this world. Veteran
    I decorate a tree, go to church with my family (they don't know I'm a Buddhist) on Christmas eve and day, and exchange gifts.

Pretty standard stuff.
  • federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    @ThaiLotus, have you seen this thread?
  • @federica... I had not... thank you!
  • Inc88Inc88 Explorer
    Small decorated tree, few lights decorating the house, and gift exchanging with my family and girlfriend. Personally im not big on Christmas either (family is the same) and i eventually want to root out the old unnecessary ritual. The most id want to do in the future is exchange gifts with my spouse, if she still celebrates, to make her happy.