Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Was Jesus a Buddhist?

2»

Comments

• not1not2not1not2 Veteran
    edited November 2006
    Brigid wrote:
    I'm so confused about the Bodhisattva Vow and I don't know why I can't get it through my thick skull. Maybe I should start a thread about it. For instance, wouldn't karma dictate where a Bodhisattva is reborn? Or are Bodhisattvas fully enlightened beings that have no more karma? And if they have no more karma, how can they be reborn? You see what I mean? I just don't understand the whole thing. I don't know what's wrong with me.
    I am no expert on the Bodhisattva path, but I do have a general understanding. Hopefull I can clarify a few things.

First off, I would like to point out that the Mahayana teachings do have some conflict with the Theravada teachings in their categorizations of beings below full Buddhahood. Now, my understanding is that in Mahayana Buddhism, a practitioner may reach the Arahant stage, which is an initial stage of Awakening/Enlightenment, but not be a Buddha. This is because arahant may or may not be able to teach & has not developed the 6 Perfections fully. So, what makes one a Buddha is the full development of the 6 perfections (paramitas). Bodhisattva, in its most basic sense, means one who aspires towards Buddhahood. Also, the Bodhisattva Path is broken down into 'Bhumis' (there are 10 of them), which are basically the stages of development of the 6 Perfections.