Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

The more I learn the less I know.

2»

Comments

• misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran
    edited June 2015

hi all,

well one question from myside, may be a stupid question, but somehow i am not able to figure it out - theoretically there is no independent entity existing, so everything dependently co-arises - this theoretically is fine - which i think is what sunyata or emptiness teachings in heart sutra say - then the question is when someone finds there is no 'I' in himself, then how does kindnesss and compassion arise for others, because for compassion to arise, there should be an idea that there is some other being different from me, who is currently suffering which i am seeing and so i should act compassionately towards him.

so what exactly is realized in emptiness? - that there is no 'I', then after its realization how come the thought arises that there is some 'other' being outside of me, who is suffering and would get some relief from an act of kindness or compassion through me?

i hope you are getting the question. any ideas please. thanks in advance.

• EarthninjaEarthninja Wanderer West Australia Veteran

@misecmisc1 great question, I can't answer from personal experience but from what I've learnt is that compassion and love is our true nature.

Compassion is not a choice but our substratum.
    It's from this place you see that all beings suffer from their delusions.
    If you knew everyone suffered because of a belief, wouldn't compassion arise? :)

But it's not selective compassion, it's equal for everyone. This is true compassion.

My two cents anyway.