Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

How to overcome lust?

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited April 2015 in General Banter

Hi All,

How to overcome lust? i understand that it is biological to get attracted towards opposite sex - but still when i see a beautiful girl say in office or in a shared cab while coming or going to office or on road, my mind starts its lustful thoughts and i keep on trying to see her body till she remains in my field of vision - this thing goes on throughout the day and i cannot miss even a single sexy girl passing by me, without me checking her out by seeing.

So what to do to overcome lust? i know about ashubha meditation, but whenever a sexy girl comes before my eyes, the thoughts about ashubha meditation do not come to my mind at all and lust fully covers my mind.

So how do you overcome lust and how do the monks overcome lust? Any ideas, please. Thanks in advance.

dantepw

Comments

• nakazcidnakazcid Somewhere in Dixie, y'all Veteran

My lama once said that he avoided lust by imagining what's underneath the skin. By imagining all the nasty bits underneath (contents of the bowels, naked muscle and fat, etc.) he said that helped him immensely.

dantepw
  • mmommo Veteran

@Namada, Are you my cousin? I heard it from one of my male cousin.

Namadadantepw
  • VastmindVastmind Memphis, TN Veteran
    edited April 2015

I dont try to overcome. I notice it...and wait for it to pass.

"Whoa...that guy makes my loin shake" " I feel tingly looking at him" " I see eye candy!" or " what he just said to me or how he said it, makes me melt"