Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

A few questions.

edited June 2011 in Buddhism Basics
Hey everyone. I'm new to Buddhism just learning about it, but so far I really like what I've learned especially how logical and well thought out the system is. I know the basics. The Four Noble Truths and 8-fold path. I do have a few questions though if you wouldn't mind helping me out.

1. What is Nirvana? Is it ceasing to exist completely, like the normal atheist view of what happens when you die or is there more to it than that?

2.I'm am more interested in the Mahayana tradition, but the only center near me is based around Tibetan Buddhism,would it be okay for me to go there and learn from them and ask questions? I ask this because, I know christian groups will try their hardest to convert you and I don't want that.

3. Where should I start reading? Does the Mahayana tradition follow the Pali cannon as well, are is it replace with other sutras?

Comments

• That's really good that you've taken an interest in the Dhamma. By putting the teachings of the Buddha into practice you can create an immense amount of happiness for yourself in this life time, and if you believe in a hereafter, your future lives should be covered as well ; ).
    If you really want to understand Nibbana your just going to have to practice the meditation in order to understand all of it's ins and outs.