Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Why I stopped meditating

edited June 2011 in Meditation
This is more like a plea (or maybe just simple encouragement?) and less of an explanation. Please know that I am very new to both meditating and Buddhism.

Earlier this year I had begun to meditate on a regular basis. I would start with a brief body scan meditation, and then a guided (an audio file) meditation. I started to have flashes of my childhood. Overwhelming, frightening flashes. My life as a child was filled with abuse and these images caused a lot of anxiety. I was unable to let them go throughout the rest of my day.

I am in therapy (have been for a year), and I would like to attempt meditation again. It has been beneficial in my life before and know it's a true need in my life now.

I do not have a support system for meditation and Buddhism in 3D land and therefore know of no one else who has experienced this. Is it something I am meant to go through? Is there a way of experiencing it with reduced anxiety after the meditation session? It's a real psychological barrier and I haven't meditated in months as a result.

Advice, thoughts, or similar experiences out there?

Comments

• personperson Don't believe everything you think The liminal space Veteran
    You have a difficult situation, meditation does naturally bring up painful memories. Its good that you're also in therapy, does your therapist know about meditation can you work with them on it?