Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Am I being too difficult on myself?

edited March 2012 in Buddhism Basics
I'm new to the practice, and have been steadily reading my way along various discussions, books, and practice methods.

In my own meditation, I'm starting to wonder if I'm being too harsh on my own mind. The methodology that I've been following is to breathe in and out, focusing on the sensation of the breath against the nostrils (or on a simple chant at times), and counting 1-1, 2-2, etc up to 10 and then beginning again. During this time I try and pay attention to any stray thoughts that enter my mind, label them appropriately ("anxiety," "thinking about tomorrow," "what happened yesterday," etc) and then drop them away.

However I've also been - on the advice of a long-time practitioner - resetting my counting back to 1 every time one of those thoughts enters my head.

I'm not sure whether or not this is helping me. Doing it seems to turn getting anywhere above 3 or 4 into an ego game/competition with myself, and of course as soon as I do I rarely make it above 5 or 6 before thinking "I made it above 5 or 6!" which is itself something I tend to label and drop, since I'm concentrating on the process itself rather than just allowing myself to stand back from it all.