Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

D.T. Suzuki's "Modern, Morality-Free" Zen?

2»

Comments

• misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran
    edited September 2014

If I think from Dogen's teachings' point of view, then the reason morality would not have been stressed much in Zen is that we need to realize our true nature. But for acting morally, the discrimination needs to be done between good and bad, before that the discrimination between self and others and in a way, whole construction of duality. As per Dogen's teaching, when we go out and try to actualize myriad things, it is delusion and different things coming and getting actualized by themselves is enlightenment. So if we need to practice morality, then we need to reach out to goodness, which even though shall be virtuous, but still keep the delusion continuing. So Dogen taught zazen as thinking not thinking or non-thinking. In a way, the immediacy of the experience in the moment by neither grasping onto it, nor rejecting it, but letting the experience arise, stay and cease by itself. Then when in daily life, this practice of non-thinking occurs in daily activities, the actions which would be performed will be at least not immoral. So morality might come as a by-product of the Zen practice of just sitting or zazen. That is why I think Dogen did not emphasized morality as a stepping stone to start practice.

Cinorjer
  • DairyLamaDairyLama Veteran Veteran
    edited September 2014

@misecmisc1 said:

So morality might come as a by-product of the Zen practice of just sitting or zazen.

It might come? Do you mean it might not come?
    :eek: .