Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

"I don't eat my friends"

2»

Comments

• BunksBunks Australia Veteran
    @ethera... I have known good hearted people who eat meat, and corrupt people who are vegetarian....
    A vegetarian moral superiority that casts a pall over non-vegetrians for their general impurity is not a part of Buddhism IMHO.
    Defining/Identifying ourselves with our habits or is not very free indeed.
    as in
    "I'm a vegetarian"
    "I'm an artist"
    "I'm a doctor"
    "I'm a guy"
    "I'm a buddhist"
    etc...

using labels to describe ourselves or our habits/actions is perfectly fine however.

now back to the subject ;)
    Agree! I don't tell people I am a buddhist as it is just another label IMO.

• BunksBunks Australia Veteran
    The Dalai Lama eats meat yeah?
  • mircomirco New
    edited July 2012
    What about the animals that die in the process of planting, harvest and processing corn, vegetables and fruits? Those ain't friends?

Vegetarism or Veganism is not bad.
    But Vegetarism or Veganism not a declared Buddhist practice.

Have a good look at the Jīvakasuttaṃ, Majjhima Nikaya 55.

Metta&Peace,
    MIrco
  • Invincible_summerInvincible_summer Heavy Metal Dhamma We(s)t coast, Canada Veteran
    What about the animals that die in the process of planting, harvest and processing corn, vegetables and fruits? Those ain't friends?
    Those aren't killed intentionally. But in any case, Buddhism is all about the middle path - one can't just give up eating altogether because some sentient being may be unintentionally harmed, just like how one shouldn't just eat every animal possible.