Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Hitting a Meditation Wall

edited May 2012 in Meditation
I’ve been meditating twice a day, about 30 minutes in total, for three months now. The first couple of months were great, a certain space and peace settled in and now that I’m back in college, it’s gotten tougher. My mind is much more active now, there’s always crap to do, etc… (I’m older and live alone so there is no on-campus living distractions)

The biggest change is the inability to slow/keep-at-a-distance the racing mind. I’m having a harder time getting my focus on the breath and keeping it there; the thoughts have taken over the mind and I feel as if I’m in the ocean, fighting off large waves and as soon as I fight off one and get back to the breath, another comes. It’s more immediate than it used to be. In some fashion, I feel my practice has been hijacked by my thoughts. As well, mindfulness has slipped a bit and it might take half a day to think, “Sitting in chair, holding pen, breathing…”