Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

What's are the Major Differences Between Zen and Other Buddhist Sects?

For that matter- what are the major buddhists Sects and what sets each apart?

I've been studying and practicing for about 6 years. I was introduced to Buddhism by an elderly couple who were helping me along the path. They were Zen adherents and that's been my direction from the beginning. Both of them passed away about 4 years ago. Since then I've been pretty much on my own. Recently I've been reading Dogen and he seems to have had some serious disagreement with the teachings of non Zen Buddhist sects in China. This leads me to ask the above question(s)

Comments

• BhikkhuJayasaraBhikkhuJayasara Bhikkhu Veteran
    edited December 2012
    Depending on who you talk to, there are either 2 or 3 different major sects of Buddhism.

The two that no one argues over are Theravada (teachings of the elders) and Mahayana(Great Vehicle)..

The third is Vajrayana(Thunderbolt Vehicle) otherwise known as Tibetan Buddhism.

Mahayana is often called an "umbrella" sect, because most of the types of Buddhism you know of, Ch'an, Zen, Pure Land, etc, all fall under Mahayana.

and of course under all of these sects are innumerable amounts of traditions, usually based off of specific teachers.

I teach a basics of Buddhism class and I use these links from Buddhanet.net which should be helpful-

This link has a large variety of info on many many schools
    http://www.buddhanet.net/e-learning/history/schools.htm

Theravada - Teachings of the Elders
    Mahayana - The Great Vehicle
    Vajrayana - The Thunderbolt Vehicle