Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Anapanasati sutta - how to focus on natural breathing?

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited January 2014 in Meditation
hi all,

Anapanasati sutta says to watch the breath, as it normally happens, but not to manipulate the breath.

my problem is - whenever i sit and try to watch my breath, almost all the time, what happens is my observing of my breath manipulates the breath, even if i do not wish to change my breath in most of the occasions.

so what to do - how to observe natural breathing, without changing it? please suggest. thanks in advance.

Comments

• You don't observe the breath - if you did, there would be a distinction between observer and the thing observed (in this case, breath). Instead, you breathe consciously - then no duality.
    lobster
  • HamsakaHamsaka goosewhisperer Polishing the 'just so' Veteran
    It's perfectly OK to know you are affecting your breathing while you are focusing upon it. You can still focus on the breathing. At the same time, try to 'let go' of controlling the breathing. You'll feel your body getting ready to take the next breath, and then it will breathe in. You'll feel the body getting ready to let the breath out, and it will let it out.

I find myself going between this regular, deliberate breathing pattern and letting go of it over and over. I'll realize I'm breathing in a pattern, and then let go of the pattern. It's kind of subtle and hard to explain :-/ but I go back and forth. I don't get too worried about it, it's not like you can do it 'wrong' and screw up your whole life and meditation practice forever lol!