Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Initiating with a Buddhist teacher

inyoinyo Explorer
edited April 2014 in Buddhism Basics

Hi everyone~ I'm 24 and I've been studying Buddhism solo for about 6 years, but I found a monastery online and I'm thinking of contacting them to try to learn from a meditation teacher. Although I'm familiar with Buddhism, I am very unfamiliar with how it works to set up with a teacher! I'm sure many of you all have experienced this before. Please excuse my ignorance on this matter, but if you could help me with these questions:

1. If they put me with a random teacher person who I know nothing about or have any recommendation to from others is it okay? This may be one of those using your logic to see if the teacher is good and works for you.

2. Do I donate money or food or what? and to who and how much? Is this something I just ask the monastery?

3. (a) Will it be a set schedule? (b) how often are the teaching sessions? (c) Is it something I can only do twice a week for awhile or intermittently for longer periods?

4. Is there any etiquette I should be aware of?