Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Meditation, mindfullness ....then ?

Hiya

I'm new to Buddhism and I've been reading some introductionry material.

I get a bit puzzled when when I read about different types of meditation, contemplating and mindfulness etc..

I've been practicing mindfulness but I'm wondering if there is a next step where potentially I could meditate in a different way rather than mindfulness. Not that I'm in a hurry to do this I'm finding mindfulness hugely beneficial.

I hope this makes some sense.

Thanks in advance Ritchie.

Comments

• ToraldrisToraldris   -`-,-{@     Zen Nud... Buddhist     @}-,-`-   East Coast, USA Veteran

Well, it's one thing being mindful, and another applying effort toward penetrating all experiences as being "empty", like the stuff of dreams. The greater clarity you develop, the less power mind-stuff will have.

• BuddhadragonBuddhadragon Ehipassiko & Carpe Diem Samsara Veteran

Meditation and mindfulness... then?
    More meditation and mindfulness.
    Enough homework for several lifetimes!

• Then?

There is a then?

Guys we have been lied to? :buck: .

and now back to the now . . .

BunksBuddhadragonmmo
  • JeffreyJeffrey Veteran
    edited September 2014

what is mindfulness? what is it? is it ordinary? what does it feel like? does it leave something needful outside of mindfulness to do?

• bookwormbookworm U.S.A. Veteran

Mindfulness is the first factor of the 7 factors of enlightenment.

Jeffrey
  • There is no .... then?

Heedfulness is the Deathless path,
    heedlessness, the path to death.
    Those who are heedful do not die,
    heedless are like the dead.