Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

consummate in knowledge & conduct

what do you know about these?

when we homage to Buddha, this is one quality we say that He have
'vijja carana sampanno'

vijja = knowledge
carana = conduct

Comments

• ToraldrisToraldris   -`-,-{@     Zen Nud... Buddhist     @}-,-`-   East Coast, USA Veteran

What does the question even mean? What are you asking? And is it something for Beginners, as that's where it's posted? I'm not a beginner and I wouldn't know how to answer...

• DairyLamaDairyLama Veteran Veteran
    edited December 2014

I found this definition on Dhamma Wheel:
    "Accomplished in the conduct leading to awareness or cognitive skill. An epithet for the Buddha."
    You could try googling the pali phrase and see what comes up.

Nirvana
  • @upekka said:
    what do you know about these?

when we homage to Buddha, this is one quality we say that He have
    'vijja carana sampanno'

vijja = knowledge
    carana = conduct

Exactly so. Perfect conduct is something we move towards, exemplified in the Buddha ideal. Automatically this Śīla enables or empowers the perfecting of knowledge on the nature of Buddhood.

Be gentle. We are Buddhas in training, not all knowing perfections . . . <3

Jeffreyupekka
  • bookwormbookworm U.S.A. Veteran