Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

How Buddhists treat guests?

Hello!
I am new in Buddhism. I would like to know how buddhist treat guest in his house. Are there any special habits?

Thank you for your replies.

Comments

• RhodianRhodian Loser Veteran

I do not know about this... But even the Buddha got offered bad food... I would not worry to much about it just stay on the path/guidelines the buddha gave you, and there might not be something in it specific for treatment of guests, but there are things like do not lie, and such that can be used when there's guests as well.

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator

Buddhists act in precisely the same way as any hospitable host would.
    There is nothing intrinsically different between a good, kindly, generous and welcoming host, and a good, kindly generous, welcoming Buddhist host.

The ambience may be different, but the manners remain the same.

Now, being a Buddhist guest, may have different connotations....

lobster
  • BuddhadragonBuddhadragon Ehipassiko & Carpe Diem Samsara Veteran
    Buddhist people chant mantras to their guests on opening the door and place lotus flowers with Buddha napkins on the table...
    Yes, of course I'm joking...
    Buddhist people treat their guests like anybody else.
    It might be more a case of which country you are in, and cultural differences rather than a specific religious issue.
    VastmindEarthninjaSarahT
  • @DhammaDragon said: