Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

What is our true self?

1235»

Comments

• federicafederica Seeker of the clear blue sky... Its better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt Moderator
    edited August 2016

"Round like a circle in a spiral, like a wheel within a wheel
    Never ending or beginning on an ever spinning reel..."

"Windmills of your Mind" (Noel Harrison, 'The Thomas Crown Affair')

• misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a Hindu India Veteran
    edited August 2016

@SpinyNorman said:
    Here is the relevant passage from the Bahiya Sutta for reference:

"Then, Bāhiya, you should train yourself thus: In reference to the seen, there will be only the seen. In reference to the heard, only the heard. In reference to the sensed, only the sensed. In reference to the cognized, only the cognized. That is how you should train yourself. When for you there will be only the seen in reference to the seen, only the heard in reference to the heard, only the sensed in reference to the sensed, only the cognized in reference to the cognized, then, Bāhiya, there is no you in connection with that. When there is no you in connection with that, there is no you there. When there is no you there, you are neither here nor yonder nor between the two. This, just this, is the end of stress."
    http://www.accesstoinsight.org/tipitaka/kn/ud/ud.1.10.than.html

So where does volition/intention fit into this sutta?

• DairyLamaDairyLama Veteran Veteran

I guess the intention is to practice mindfulness.

• namarupanamarupa Veteran
    edited August 2016