Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Buddhist praying in light of Thai cave trauma

vinlynvinlyn Colorado...for now Veteran

So because of some newspaper articles about the Thai cave trauma, someone has said to me, "See, you were wrong! Thais do pray".

I wish some of you who find this interesting might critique my response, part of which is below:

"I don't believe that you understand the difference between prayer in an Abrahamic religion, and what "prayer" in the Thai Theravadan religion is.

I'm not going to talk about how Mahayana Buddhists may pray, because I have little experience in Mahayana Buddhism. I'm not going to talk about how Zen Buddhists may pray, because I have no experience in Zen Buddhism. I'm going to talk only about Thai Theravadan Buddhism, because -- to one degree or another -- I've been a Thai Theravadan Buddhist since 1986.