Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Simple (mabye) question about intoxicants

shanyinshanyin Novice YoginSault Ontario Veteran
edited April 2010 in Buddhism Basics
Hello all. I hope this doesn't cause any problems.

Did the Buddha ever say that intoxicants are evil? I thought I read this somewhere and would like to find out from some knowledgable Buddhists because this is the quickest way to find out as I do not live near an accessible monastery.

Comments

• MountainsMountains Veteran
    edited April 2010
    I'm no expert, but I don't think the Buddha ever said anything is "evil". I think the consensus seems to be that the ingestion of anything that interferes with clarity of mind is unskillful.

Mtns
  • FoibleFullFoibleFull Canada Veteran
    edited April 2010
    shanyin wrote: »
    Hello all. I hope this doesn't cause any problems.

Did the Buddha ever say that intoxicants are evil? I thought I read this somewhere and would like to find out from some knowledgable Buddhists because this is the quickest way to find out as I do not live near an accessible monastery.

Let's not use the word "evil" ... a very Christian concept, and worlds away from Buddhism.

By all means, WHATEVER you do, there will be results from it ... you don't need to be a Buddhist to understand that principle! (Buddhists call it "karma").

Buddhism is about training our mind, and ALSO about releasing old habits of being/thinking/feeling and replacing them with new (Buddhist) habits. Habits are only slowly created or removed through repetition and reinforcement. What habits are we reinforcing through our actions?