Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

As per Buddha, who experiences pain and pleasure?

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited January 2012 in Philosophy
Hi All,

As per my understanding of Buddha's teachings, Buddha taught that there is no being called 'I' but it is actually the 5 aggregates. What i am not able to understand is : what is that which experiences pain and pleasure? Suppose we get hit by a stone in our leg, then we feel pain, so my question is who is feeling the pain here? Similarly who experiences pleasure and the effects of the causes? Please suggest.

Comments

• edited December 2011
    An I does exist, but at the same time, it does not. Get it?

You do exist (form), this is true. Your body has mass to it - it is a material thing. It is not that you do not exist, because you do. But..

This you, though, does not exist independently from all other things. It is conditioned by nature. Where does this you start or stop? When did you become you? When will you no longer become you? This is what we mean by "there is no you." You "do" exist, but not in a concrete sense (emptiness). You are ever changing - connected with everything else - not some separate, concrete entity.

So what feels the pain and pleasure? Your body. Or, the body which you believe to be you.

Form is emptiness and emptiness if form.

Now, if you are asking what really am I? Well, I believe the most appropriate answer is awareness. You are the awareness which is aware of all the pain, all the pleasure, all the actions of the body. You are the silent watcher behind all the action.