Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

It is never quiet

When I started studying and doing meditation which was about a week ago, I realized that there is never any queit time. I have a two year old, a dog, and a snoring caregiver. My caregiver is my daughters' father. I wanted to be able to meditate at least twice a day. Once without chanting and once with. Do to the noise, I am only able to meditate once a day so far but I do it everyday. Any suggestions on blocking out the noise? I really have no where in my home to go that is quiet and I am almost bed ridden so going out isn't really a option. I also live in the city so I can't go outside and meditate either.

Comments

• shanyinshanyin Novice Yogin Sault Ontario Veteran
    I used to wear those yellow foam earplugs. They aren't 100% effective but maybe you can find some that are.
  • I sometimes use a recorded thunderstorm or the sound of a waterfall on my ipod to cover distracting sounds.
  • sovasova delocalized fractyllic harmonizing Veteran
    The city, depending where, can be very peaceful early in the morning. Rise with the sun and the only sounds you might hear are cabs, buses, and birds in the early day.

Happy sitting :D!
  • Oh thank you so much @shanyin. They use them when you get an MRI. Where do you buy them online? Amazon maybe?
  • Straight_ManStraight_Man Gentle Man Veteran

Oh thank you so much @shanyin. They use them when you get an MRI. Where do you buy them online? Amazon maybe?

Gun shops, hunting supplies. So yes, maybe LL Bean or Herter's online.

MoonIzAMoore
  • shanyinshanyin Novice Yogin Sault Ontario Veteran