Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

How to practice loving-kindness towards self?

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran

hi all,

how to practice loving-kindness towards self and also how to prevent this from further increasing the sense of self in within me? please suggest. thanks in advance.

Comments

• rohitrohit Maharrashtra Veteran

As per siddhartha Buddha ' The best person is one who take care of self and also cares for others' .
    Neglacting self for others can not bring piece. And one has responsibility for self as well.

Shoshinlobster
  • NirvanaNirvana aka BUBBA   `     `   South Carolina, USA Veteran
    edited January 2016

how to practice loving-kindness towards self and also how to prevent this from further increasing the sense of self in within me?

I think metta meditation starts with self and can know no end. That is the gist of metta meditation, which can be done sitting with eyes closed or just by carrying a prayerful attitude in ones heart while engaged in worldly activities.

In other words, for the practitioner of Metta there is no danger at all of the Ego (or self) building itself up as a hermetic fortress (Confident, yes, but not self-ish). Metta breaks down walls. It does not build them.

Shoshinlobster
  • EarthninjaEarthninja Wanderer West Australia Veteran

@misecmisc1 said:
    hi all,

how to practice loving-kindness towards self and also how to prevent this from further increasing the sense of self in within me? please suggest. thanks in advance.

See that the sense of self is not within you, it IS you. So you may as well love yourself, you are a miracle. :)