Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Now that I am a beginner ...

As a constant beginner of a 'some sort of almost Buddhist' type, I like to hear advice worth ignoring or preferably heeding.

My plan is not to listen but should I be prepared to abandon any plans? Would that be an unsuitable first step?

yagr

Comments

• DairyLamaDairyLama Veteran Veteran
    edited June 2016

I think you should become a faith follower and start believing in rebirth in the crustacean realm, magic pinching powers and such. Praise the Lord, born again. :p

You could also take up a martial art like Lobster Judo:

KundoJRick49herbertoRuddyDuck9
  • BunksBunks Australia Veteran

Find a tradition.
    Find a teacher.
    Practice, practice, practice.......

KundoShoshin

If you were looking for serious suggestions, then I think Thai Forest could be a good fit. It's basically a mix of Theravada and Zen.

herbertoRuddyDuck9
  • JeroenJeroen Luminous beings are we, not this crude matter Netherlands Veteran

Stay with Buddhism as long as it feels right. Leave when it doesn't.
    Find a teacher, but one who encourages you to test his teaching.
    Read, discuss, digest.
    Put into practice what seems right to you.
    Follow through on your commitments.

lobsterherbertoVastmind
  • DavidDavid A human residing in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. Ancestral territory of the Erie, Haudenosaunee, Huron-Wendat, Mississauga and Neutral First Nations Veteran
    edited June 2016

@lobster said:
    As a constant beginner of a 'some sort of almost Buddhist' type, I like to hear advice worth ignoring or preferably heeding.