Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Zazen

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran

Hi All,
How are you? Does anyone here sit in zazen - by zazen, I mean Dogen's Shikantaza zazen meditation? If yes, then can you please tell that after the body sits in zazen meditation posture, what we need to do next - means do we need to observe something or we should not do anything? If we do not do anything after sitting in the zazen sitting body posture, then how does zazen work - means how does it lead us to realize our true self? Please suggest. Thanks.

Comments

• adamcrossleyadamcrossley Veteran UK Veteran

I’m not surprised there haven’t been many answers to this. It’s not very clear, is it? I attended a Zen group recently but encountered this problem, and I ended up not returning.

@Shoshin, that’s all very well and good, but how do you approach doing nothing but sitting? Do you make any attempt to focus the mind? If not, what do you do when the mind wanders?

Moreover, how does shikantaza help you to unravel afflictive mental states and habitual patterns? In Vipassana, the meditator applies awareness to these things and holds them in compassion. Other traditions have similar methods to work through such problems. What does shikantaza offer?

• techietechie India Veteran

@adamcrossley said:
    I’m not surprised there haven’t been many answers to this. It’s not very clear, is it? I attended a Zen group recently but encountered this problem, and I ended up not returning.