Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Cushion or stool?

CharmwahCharmwah Wakefield, UK New

Hello all

I'm a newbie here, so I'd like to thank you all in advance for taking the time to read my post and for any advice which is forthcoming.

I've had a regular meditation practice now for just over a year, but i'm still struggling with feeling comfortable whilst sitting. I'm a typical westerner in that I can't currently sit in any form of lotus, but I can usually sit in Burmese without issue. About 3 months into my practice I bought a decent zafu, and then maybe a month later felt that I needed to elevate myself further so use a normal cushion underneath this in order to keep my knees below my hips. I also try to practice yoga asanas which will help correct my admittedly less than ideal posture.

Since I work 5 days a week I tend to meditate first thing in the morning, though at the weekends it's often a little later, but I notice that I am more comfortable at the weekend, presumably because the stiffness has eased from my dormant body during sleep. In an ideal world I would include some yoga pre-meditation during the week, but time constraints make that difficult. In short, I tend to not feel like I am sitting straight and my lower back begins to tire, my legs shake and it becomes too much of a distraction.