Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Finding a tradition

JohnMacJohnMac DrScotland Veteran

Firstly, hello all from the Canary Islands! As per the title of my thread, I'm looking to find myself a tradition to follow! Maybe a bit of explanation might help. I'm a landscape photographer by profession, which involves an awful lot of sitting and waiting for the right light at the right time at the right place, so during my working life I spend a lot of time waiting and observing each and every moment as it comes and goes and deciding whether or not that particular moment will become a picture. During the course of my work, it occurred to me that whilst I am working, it is the only time in my life when I really live in the moment, completely and utterly absorbed in the now. When I had that particular thought, I have to say I was quite stunned when I compared how I work to how I live- when I'm not photographing I tend to worry and stress about the past and the future, quite a contrast to my working practice. Anyhow, I arrived at Buddhism when I wondered if there was any connection between photography and the moment- I found Zen photography by John Daido Loori, and then the whole thing clicked into place. Now, I have decided to properly and seriously commit myself to the path of living in the now. Accordingly, I'm a little confused as to which tradition I might be best to start to follow. Zen jumped out at me immediately, due to Daido Loori, but the formality puts me off slightly, or perhaps that's what I need. I would welcome any suggestions at all! Thank in advance, John.

Comments