Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Questioning ones faith

ThailandTomThailandTom Veteran
edited April 2011 in Buddhism Basics
I have been practicing and researching buddhism now for over 2 years. My meditation is probably the worse section second to attachments. It has helped with certain aspects in my life, but I may be losing my faith a little. I never have any motivation or determination to meditate often, or for along amount of time for that matter. I have never had a deep deep meditation and I am questioning things.. Is buddhism for me?

Comments

• MindGateMindGate United States Veteran
    What are you questioning? Buddhism isn't really about "faith" from what I know.
  • beingbeing Veteran
    edited April 2011
    If you are looking for something to believe in, then probably yes, Buddhism might not be for you.
    If you are not willing to really investigate the meaning of Buddhism, then I don't see how you could hope for it to help you. By investigating I mean really putting it into practice. Give up your attachments just like that, firmly. Stop fooling around with your taperings and giving yourself new excuses to continue abusing substances. Just do it - just firmly say no to yourself any time you feel like escaping by popping another pill. Eventually you would no longer feel this need. The only one that's stopping you, is yourself letting this go on.

But of course unless you can really see the harm it's causing you, you will not see a reason to quit it. It can be hard to really see clearly, when you're constantly intoxicated.

There's no easy way out and it has been hard for every practitioner. ^___^