Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Meditation Guides

edited May 2011 in Meditation
I have tried doing a search through the forums but couldn't find anything. If I have missed a good thread on this topic please can someone guide me to it?

I am looking for a good meditation guide (in the form of a book). I have many books which talk about meditation but I can't seem to find one that actually shows you, in detail, how to do it.

I have a fair amount of experience in 'home-made' meditation and am quite happy sitting for fairly long periods so I am not a beginner in the strict sense. I ideally want to know things like: with Vipassana, for how long prior in a session should I focus on concentration, before attempting insight. I am also interested in the various techniques of spiritual questioning or koans in order to gain insights.

FYI I am looking for a teacher but I do not know how long that will take or whether it will be successful.

Thanks

Comments

• I benefitted a lot from Bhante Henepola Gunaratana's Mindfulness in Plain English, which many call a classic. You can find it on the web for free (google it) or in bookstores. This book is mainly on Vipassana. He has another book, Beyond Mindfulness in Plain English, on concentration meditation. His book Eight Mindful Steps to Happiness is also outstanding; though not solely about meditation, I did learn a little more that I had missed in the first book.
  • genkakugenkaku Northampton, Mass. U.S.A. Veteran