Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Do you believe in gods?

edited August 2011 in Buddhism Basics
I am new to buddhism and was wondering how many of you believe in a form of deity and worship?
Or if not please give me your insight.

Comments

• aMattaMatt Veteran
    I don't believe or disbelieve in a god, and I don't invest thought in that direction.

In buddhism, it is generally said that using our mind to contemplate the unknowable is unhelpful. We don't need a deity to understand moral living, compassion and wisdom.

I said to some mormons recently that it doesn't matter to me if god exists or not, my days will still be full of humility, mindful action and helpful intent.

Belief is something the mind can set aside with practice.
  • MountainsMountains Veteran
    edited August 2011
    What he said ^^^^^^

Also, I don't "worship" anything or anyone (well, Penelope Cruz might come close, but that's another story)...
  • genkakugenkaku Northampton, Mass. U.S.A. Veteran
    @anthony -- Buddhism is largely an exercise in getting over our notions about something else. With close attention and some determination, our practice points out that the distinctions we make -- between god and man, boy and girl, tall and short, happy and sad, wise and deluded, holy and unholy, important and unimportant -- are tentative descriptions ... useful in their time, but not true over time.