Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

What kind of a virtual world we are living in

misecmisc1misecmisc1 I am a HinduIndia Veteran
edited April 2012 in Buddhism Basics
after understanding some phenomena through theoretical understanding, it seems that the world we live in is not really as it seems.

sound does not exist - we speak and think that we generate sound through our mouth, but sound is realized through our ear and that too just air disturbance vibrating the ear-drums and then consciousness creating the magic of words we listen.

colour does not exist - there is nothing red or green outside - but light of a different wavelength, but when this image reaches our brain, then consciousness creates the magic of colours.

we touch other objects - but at the atomic level there is only electrons in the outer orbit getting repelled by the electrons of the external objects - so nothing touches in reality but our consciousness creates the magic of sensation of touching.

we feel matter as solid - but at its root level, it is mostly empty space with some vibrations in it - so solidness in reality does not seem to exist.

the biggest delusion is 'I' - till we live we create our world around this concept of 'I' and think our whole world will collapse if we are not there and always get caught up in stories about what I said, heard, felt, did to others - but suddenly at death 'I' is gone and whatever we said, heard, felt, did with this 'I' is over for ever.

So all these lead me to think what kind of a virtual world we are living in. Any views, please.

Comments

• What is your definition of "virtual?"