Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04
Welcome home! Please contact lincoln@icrontic.com if you have any difficulty logging in or using the site. New registrations must be manually approved which may take several days. Can't log in? Try clearing your browser's cookies.

Feelings and disassociation

edited May 2012 in Meditation
Hello,

I've been meditating off on for about 10 years, but became pretty serious about my practice over the past two years. I've been training at Shambhala and recently went on a 10 day silent meditation retreat (vipasana). I've definitely gained many valuable insights and believe that I've changed quite a bit internally, but there seems to be something very different in how I access/relate to my feelings and emotions that is bothering me. Basically, I am feeling profoundly unconnected to my emotions and feelings (I guess relative to how I used to connect to them). At first, this really started to feel like "stability" and the ability to detach from my emotions in order to simply stay present. However, I'm now reaching a point in which it seems like I've lost access to my intuition and "gut feelings"... and actually joy and spontaneity for that matter. It's weird, because I do think I am able to be present and listen well with other people, but it feels completely cut off from a deeper sense of compassion and engagement that I used to feel - kind of robotic. Is this something that anyone else has encountered? I don't miss being highly emotionally charged and volatile, but I do miss feeling more... human? Would love to hear from anyone else that may be able to relate to this or offer some insight... thanks so much.

Comments

• Invincible_summerInvincible_summer Heavy Metal Dhamma We(s)t coast, Canada Veteran